“You like me, you really like me”: My Liebster Award Nomination

Sally Field’s Oscar acceptance for “Places in the Heart” (Source)

I received not one, but TWO nominations for the Liebster Award this week from Mike over at MikesFilmTalk and Claratsi at ClaratsiMovieBlog. Both have some really interesting, insightful movie-related blogs you should definitely visit.

Being new to the whole blogosphere, I wasn’t quite sure what a Liebster Award entailed. Apparently it’s a chance to get to know those in the blogging community and to get a bit more of a flavour for the authors behind our favourite sites beyond their blog topics of choice. A little like those list-type games that circulate on Facebook every now and then – 15 random things about you, or 15 books that changed your life – that kind of thing. I am under the illusion that other people are as fascinated by the inner workings of my mind as I am, so I’m happy to participate. As Mike presents in the preamble to his Liebster Award acceptance post “it’s just a bit of fun”. And who couldn’t use more of that? Part of the process is in turn nominating 11 more people for the Liebster, which I’ve done below. If your name/site is on the list and it’s really not your thing, or you don’t feel like playing, that’s totally cool. I’ve only just started to build a group of blogs I follow and read regularly and if I nominated you it just means “I like you, I really like you” and will continue to like you even if you opt not to play.

As with any good game there are the Rules:

1. Each person must post eleven things about themselves
2. Answer the eleven questions the person giving the award has set for you
3. Create eleven questions for the people you will be giving the award to
4. Choose eleven people to award and send them a link to your post
5. Go to their page and tell them
6. No tag backs

STEP 1: 11 Things About Me

1. I love football. And by “football” I mean obnoxious  American pro football, not soccer (although I do enjoy soccer and used to play, but I don’t follow the Premier League or anything). This love will be become clearer in future posts once the season starts. You’ve been warned.

Go Patriots!

2. I’ve never broken a bone. About 10 years ago I partially tore my Achilles tendon though. It has never really healed properly.

3. I play several instruments. I use the present tense because theoretically I think I still can but I would be very very rusty on most of them. They include piano, flute, saxophone, and concert harp (the latter briefly and with no lasting aptitude).

4. I’m a cat person. By which I mean, I’m not opposed to dogs and in fact quite like most of them, but if I could only have one or the other, I’d go with a cat every time. They’re less needy.

Smokey, the most awesome cat in the history of the world.

5. I’m a Leo (see above).

6. I have never, will never, and could never watch or read any of the Twilight movies or books. Just no.

7. About 15 years ago I lived and worked in Reading, England on a working holiday visa. Best time ever! Again, something that if you keep tuning in, you will undoubtedly learn more about.

The Maiwand Lion in Forbury Park, Reading

On the banks of the River Kennet, Reading

The flat at 11 The Grove in Reading

8. One of my biggest pet peeves is the non-word “irregardless” – even if it were a word (which it’s NOT) it means the same thing as regardless!

9. I don’t like to cook. I make three things: sweet and sour meatballs, lasagne, and chocolate chip cookies. That’s really all I need.

10. I dressed up as Batgirl for three Halloweens in a row as a kid. And Wonder Woman for two.

11. My favourite TV show is Mad Men. It’s set in my favourite decade (the 60’s – the music, the clothes!) and it stars Jon Hamm. It makes me happy.

STEP 2: Answer 11 Questions

Since I was nominated twice, this step actually turns into Answer 22 Questions, but I think I’ve combined some questions with the facts about me so I’ve narrowed it down a little.

From MikesFilmTalk:

1. What is your favourite genre in film?

Comedies. But if you’ll be indulge me to be a bit more specific… quirky, off-beat comedies with substance like “Little Miss Sunshine”, “The Full Monty”, “The Fantastic Mr. Fox”, “Rushmore”, etc. I don’t know if that’s a “genre” per se, but those films that skillfully make me laugh AND think at the same time. I see these as being a category by themselves distinguishable from screwball comedies, romantic comedies, slapstick comedies, etc. Perhaps I just put way too much thought into that question…

2. If your fairy godmother popped in to grant a wish, what would it be?

It seems so cliché to go with my first instinct which would be ten million dollars (said Dr. Evil style). The second thing that popped in my head was “world peace” (even worse, a beauty pageant cliché) or a cure for cancer – or something generically socially conscious and globally responsible. So trying to be a bit more original, and with the qualifier that this fairy godmother only grants personal requests, I would wish Hogwarts was real and that I could go there.

3. You’ve just been told that a huge publishing house wants to publish your work, which book would you choose to present first?

The finished one. That’s a smart-ass way of saying that in my creative writing endeavours I tend to start projects and then abandon them (generally for something shiny). Perhaps one day I will finish something, which would be a big step forward toward the whole publishing prospect, hypothetical or otherwise.

4. What has been your ‘finest’ moment? (or ‘worst’ moment if you haven’t had a finest moment yet)

I think publishing my Master’s thesis even though it’s likely only four people will ever read it.

5. If by law you could only ever have one pet, what would you choose?

Oops. I think I answered this above. Cat. Cat. Cat.

6. What is your absolute favourite game? (it doesn’t have to be a console game)

I love games. All kinds of games. I don’t think I can pick just one. I might have to cheat on this one and break this down by category and age range:

Computer: Now – The Sims; Childhood – Kings Quest

Screenshot from King’s Quest II – I swear the graphics seemed much cooler back then.

Board: Now – Scene It (but nobody will play with me… [sad face]); Childhood – Careers (if you’ve never heard of this game, it’s like Life only with a bunch of career paths to follow and you have to collect fame, salary, and happiness points – my sister and I played this for HOURS as kids and made up different rules that would extend playing time indefinitely)

Card: Now – Cribbage (epic battles were forged on the cribbage board all through my university years); Childhood – Hearts (my parents taught us to play Hearts by kerosene lamp one stormy night at the cottage when the power went out).

7. What book, film, or television show first made you cry?

Eep. This is a hard question for me. I`m not a big crier when it comes to entertainment – things move me but usually not to tears. I could tell you the last book that made me cry was a piece of young adult fiction called The Book Thief, which is a beautiful, beautiful novel by Markus Zusak. But the first… hmm… I think it was The Secret of NIMH movie  when Nicodemus dies. Funny story – I was 20-something in university doing my psychology degree before I made the connection that NIMH stood for the National Institute of Mental Health.

8. The buses have all broken down and you are three miles from your destination, what would you do?

I know I probably should say “walk” here, but because of the aforementioned injury, walking for me can be somewhat laboured. I’ll go with call a cab or a friend to come and get me.

9. If you had the option to live forever, would you take it?

No. As my 99 year old grandfather continually tells me, “It’s possible to live too long, dear,” which sounds kind of sad taken out of context, but if you think about it, if you lived forever you’d have to watch everyone you love in the world die. Thanks, but no thanks.

10. What scares you most?

Socially sanctioned hatred.

11. What is the one thing that you love the most?

Being a witness to someone else’s learning, transformation and personal growth.

From ClaratsiMovieBlog:

1. Cats or dogs?

Asked and answered.

2. What’s your favourite sport?

See Fact #1.

3 & 4. What is the first movie you seen at the cinema and how old were you?

I have a very vague recollection of seeing Pinocchio, but the first one I thoroughly remember seeing was E.T. It came out in ’82 so that would’ve made me 8-ish.

5, 6 & 7. If you could meet any movie star, who would it be and what would you ask them? Would you be a geek and ask them for an autograph or a picture?

Lauren Bacall. She’s my movie star idol. I would ask her what she considers to be her greatest success. I would want a picture of me with Lauren Bacall and then I’d frame it and create a shrine.

8. Share one tip for Successful blogging?

I’m so new at blogging, I’m not sure I have any tips for “success”. Tips for fun blogging, however, would be honesty, diplomacy, and relevance (and funky pictures don’t hurt).

9. Where is the greatest place you have ever been?

Not to sound too full of down home pride, but here, Nova Scotia. It’s an awesome place to live.

10. Have you ever met anyone really famous?

Sadly, no. Thom Noble, the Oscar winning film editor (for “Witness”) stayed at our cottage when he was working on “The Scarlet Letter” in Nova Scotia, but I only ever talked to him on the phone. Still pretty cool.

11. Which movie star do you really not get?

Kristen Stewart. Seriously. I’m sure she’s a very nice girl, but I honestly do not understand the appeal there.

STEP 3: Your 11 Questions (should you choose to accept them)

1. What is your favourite movie of all time? (yep, only one)

2. Where is your favourite city?

3. How old were you when you realized there was no Santa Clause and did it matter to you?

4. If you won an Oscar, what would it be for?

5. What three famous people (living or dead) would you invite to a dinner party?

6. If you had 10 minutes alone with your country’s political leader what would you say?

7. What’s the hottest (temperature-wise) you’ve ever been?

8. If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

9. Have you ever had a surprise birthday party?

10. What was the first movie you ever saw in the theater?

11. What is your favourite thing to do on a rainy day?

STEP 4: The Nominees 

Again, I welcome the listed nominees to play if they want, but I realize most of you post a lot more frequently than I do and may not want to adjust your posting schedules to accommodate the Liebster Award process – perfectly understandable. Also, if you’ve recently been nominated for a similar-type award, I didn’t want to overburden anyone with additional accolades. Therefore I’m a little short of the goal of 11 (it seems a lot of my blog peeps are already award nominees of various forms or other), but I’m hoping no one will begrudge me that small oversight.

Krista at Bite-sized travel

Jill at Couchtime with Jill 

Ally & L-A at Fashionable People, Questionable Things

Amanda at TWISI: The Way I See It Theatre Blog 

Loni at Loni Found Herself 

Deborah Rose at First We Read, Then We Write

Jennifer at jennifermathieu 

Russell at The Password is Swordfish 

Caroline at Beauty is a Sleeping Cat 

Gillian & Drew at The Local Traveler NS

Whew! So that was fun! Hopefully you all enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it. Thanks again to MikesFilmTalk and ClaratsiMovieBlog for supporting my little site. And thanks to the Liebster Awards – it’s an honour just being nominated!

J

19 thoughts on ““You like me, you really like me”: My Liebster Award Nomination

  1. Thank you so much for the nomination.
    I’ll see when I can do my part.
    Maybe this weekend. I will have to cheat a bit and nominate less people but everything else I can do. 🙂

    • Glad I’m not the only one! BTW, I wanted to add you folks to my nomination list, but see you’ve already had a similar award request come in. If you’d like to add mine to your list, please feel free – I’d be interested to read your responses! I’ll also add your link to the post to promote your fantastic site.

      J

  2. Great answers, great questions! In a word, it’s great! Also, I just had to say this, I came within a cat’s whisker of doing the Sally Field shtick! Great (there it is again, that word) minds think alike! 🙂

  3. Love the Sally Field thing, and the fact you like Football and your a Real Football fan too (sorry, i’m British) Thanks for the mentions and i really liked your blog, have fun and i will look out for your football related posts.

    • Brilliant questions! And great posts on the subject of chain letter-y blog awards too – you articulated so well some of my own initial reservations. Thanks for playing along!

    • Thanks, Misty! And NS is a great place to visit – there’s something for everyone. FYI, fall in NS is amazing!

      Thanks so much for stopping by and checking out my site. 🙂

Leave a Reply

