Happy Birthday to ME!

Yes, Popcorn Dinner just turned one recently. After 28 posts, 4 blog awards, and approximately 2750 views, I’m quite happy with my little experiment. I’m not sure how I’m “doing” in any objectively measurable standard of hobby blogging (if one exists), but I have my little core group of faithful followers and have settled into a fairly manageable routine of posting about once a month. I recognize that if I was more active, I would probably get more traffic, but I choose not to worry about such things. If I did, I think it would start to feel a little like work instead of the pleasant diversion from the daily grind that it affords.

As luck or fortuitous planning would have it, my actual birthday is this month as well – next week, in fact. So in honour of July being the big month-o-birthdays, I’ve pulled together a fun little list of my favourite birthday-themed movies – for when you want that birthday feeling all year long…

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

The epic saga all began on Harry’s 11th birthday, which die-hard fans will know is coming up on July 30th (you know, in case you wanted to get him something). Hagrid tracks him down and announces “You’re a wizard, Harry”. Do birthdays get more memorable than finding out your parents were murdered by an evil wizard? I don’t think so. Oh, and there’s cake.

City Slickers

A mid-life crisis birthday extravaganza! Billy Crystal is at his comedic best as Mitch Robbins who re-evaluates his life choices as he approaches his 39th birthday (I guess this means I’m due for my own crisis this year!). His buddies played by Bruno Kirby and Daniel Stern present him with a birthday adventure experience: driving cattle. With Jack Palance making a suitably surly and philosophical appearance as their trail boss, hilarity ensues for the city boys riding the range.

Liar Liar

After he’s been stood up on his birthday, a young boy wishes his Dad can’t tell a lie. Jim Carrey plays the busy lawyer who struggles against the spell – complete with exaggerated facial contortions and over-the-top physical comedy. The sweet and earnest scenes where Fletcher Reede explains to his son why grown-ups have to lie mark a transition from Carrey’s wild out-of-control performances in Ace Ventura and Dumb and Dumber to a subtler, more skilled Carrey of The Truman Show and Man in the Moon.

13 Going On 30

In keeping with the birthday wishes coming true theme, after her 13th birthday party falls spectacularly to pieces, young Jenna Rink wishes she was “30, Flirty and Thriving” and when she wakes up, she’s her 13-year-old self in the body of Jennifer Garner. If you ask me, this seems like a pretty good deal.

Sixteen Candles

The quintessential teenage birthday movie. Thanks to John Hughes, someone forgetting your birthday will forever be known as a Molly Ringwald moment. Sam’s sweet 16 is overshadowed by her big sister’s wedding and some painful moments of teenage angst and embarrassment.

 

I want to thank all of the folks who have supported Popcorn Dinner for the past year and hope you continue to take a peek every now and again!

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to ME!

Leave a Reply

